保持控制力--设计仪表盘和指标以改善压力下的思维方式

视觉信息的力量

仪表盘和实时的、容易获取的信息用于决策的概念,并不是新的概念。事实上,有些人可能会惊讶地发现,用于决策支持系统的数字仪表盘的起源最早可以追溯到20世纪70年代。即使有了这个伟大的遗产,对于许多组织来说,仪表盘仍然是一个被高度误解的、构造不良的信息图,作为软件演示的一部分比作为日常管理工具看起来更好。

仪表盘最简单的形式是为了通过一系列的视觉效果来展示复杂的相关数据的集合。最熟悉的仪表盘是汽车仪表盘。仪表盘的目的是给司机提供各种条件的更新:速度、旅行方向、剩余燃料、时间、车辆里程等。通过扫视这个信息显示屏,司机可以快速、毫不费力地做出决定,停下来加油,增加或减少速度,或考虑即将到来的预防性维护要求和需要。同样,一个商业仪表盘--尤其是为技术环境而调整的仪表盘--应该让信息尽快被消化,以便做出有效的决定。

一个有效的仪表盘系统的关键区别在于能够减少所呈现的信息的复杂性,让人的大脑下意识地接管并准确计算--即时识别出正确、错误、好或坏的情况,以便采取适当的行动。

视觉化的力量

图1a描述了一系列没有顺序的书。假设这些书是手册,是一套常用的参考材料的一部分。如果个人只是简单地拿了一本书,然后临时归还,一个简单的问题,如 "哪本书不见了?",或 "系统图手册在哪里?"实际上可以成为一个小挑战。不要误会我的意思,这并不费力。然而,它确实需要有意识的努力和大脑周期来回答。

图1 - 视觉信息的力量

图1_视觉信息的力量

为了克服诸如此类的情况,大多数人在一套手册中对一系列手册进行编号或按字母顺序排列,如图1b所示。1b中描述的系统似乎很简单,易于使用,而且它降低了复杂性。在许多组织中,编号或按字母顺序排列的系统被认为是最佳做法,因此它对一个组织来说仍然是最佳做法。与大多数仪表盘类似,这个系统仍然可以改进,但大多数人没有花精力去做,因为他们已经认为进一步的优化是没有必要的。一个好的仪表盘应该为最终的简单性进行优化。如果我们回到图1中的图片,图1c代表了一种成功的图书排序方法,它降低了复杂性。在书脊上画一条线,这种简单的技术很简单,但却能让大脑在潜意识中接管,让人立即明白哪本书被遗漏了--如果有的话--以及它应该被放在哪里,按顺序排列。这就是视觉信息的真正力量。

第1步:制定目标--用组织的需求来驱动信息收集,而不是相反。

在处理组织仪表盘时,理解目的并从基础开始设计是至关重要的。企业必须花适当的时间来确保仪表盘所回答的问题是相关的,并与一系列经过深思熟虑的目标相关联。我们根据KT的决策分析方法提出问题,并列出答复,从而开始这一过程。

  • "什么对我们的组织/部门/团体/产品很重要?"
  • "我们想最小化或最大化什么?"
  • "在我们的环境中,成功的关键是什么?"

当反应产生后,最好再看一下,把它们安排在它们所代表的类别或自然分组中。这样,当讨论完成后,参与的每个人都更容易退后一步,确保目标对业务需求来说是合适和平衡的。

表1--类别和目标样本表

表1_样本类别和目标表

第2步:确定你的受众 - 避免信息过载

不是每个人都需要对一个终端流程有同样多的可见性。例如,一个组织的首席信息官可能对服务水平协议(SLA)是如何被满足的,以及当前的服务成本是多少感兴趣,而一个应用管理员可能对他们每个服务器的可用磁盘空间百分比,以及关键资产的当前正常运行时间更感兴趣。在这个阶段常见的陷阱包括:试图设计一个单一的万能指标;包括太多的信息;以及希望信息成为仪表盘的一部分,仅仅是因为 "我们有数据"。仪表盘的设计应该围绕一个人或一组用户来进行,这些人被授权根据所展示的信息做出决定并采取行动。

第2步的目标是将第1步中收集到的每个小组或个人的目标进行优先排序和连接。理想情况下,这一步应该与你为之设计仪表盘的小组成员一起完成,这样他们就可以找出差距,并能够与设计师分享他们的需求。

这个步骤还应该包括严格地清除不必要的指标。最近KT的一个CIO客户继承了一个包含192个商业成功指标的指标包。当首席信息官问到 "如果这个上升了我该怎么办?"和 "如果这个下降了我该怎么办?"时,这些指标被减少到不到六个。

第3步:创建指标,而不是乱七八糟!

设计和选择适当的衡量标准是一项必须非常谨慎地开始的任务。它被列为第三步是有原因的;太多的组织选择了指标,然后围绕它们建立一个流程--导致挫折和糟糕的商业结果。表2,如下所示,详细列出了创建有效指标所需的问题(基于KT的决策分析方法)。

表2--有效创建度量衡的步骤

表2_有效创建度量衡的步骤

在这一步中,最重要的是要记住,虽然有各种各样的指标可以用来衡量一流的服务,但并不是所有的指标都适合,也不是所有的指标都能说明你的组织/部门/团体/产品的完整故事。考虑一个特定指标对客户和企业的价值。

衡量标准设计中的一个常见陷阱是孤立地看待衡量标准。孤立地看待指标会导致不正确的结论和激烈的决策,因为你只依靠一个指标来讲述一个故事。尽管有些指标已经被研究过了,并被证明在描述一个故事方面是相当准确的,比如净促销员得分(NPS)或最近的继任者,客户努力得分(CES),这些都是例外,而不是规则。指标设计的最佳实践是将一系列的指标分层,从而利用多种来源的输入来创建一个图片,以帮助决策,而不是依赖单一的指标并做出错误的假设。下图中的表3描述了一系列指标:人们可能观察到的特定条件;大多数人在查看指标的条件后会跳出的共同想法;以及一个现实样本,显示出指标对完整故事的描述有多差。

表3 - 孤立地依赖指标的愚蠢行为

表3_孤立地依赖指标的愚蠢行为

公制设计中另一个常见的陷阱是没有在步骤2中花足够的时间,也就是了解你的受众。这样一来,设计者可能会选择一个他们没有意识到的容易被 "玩弄 "的指标。当一个指标被 "玩弄 "时,对指标的输入被有意识地操纵,以扭曲情况,从而使一个组织/部门/团体/产品看起来比实际情况更好。表4列举了一些指标的例子,这些指标的出发点是好的,但仔细一看,很容易被 "玩弄"。

表4--系统 "博弈 "的常见指标和实例

表4_系统 "博弈 "的常见指标和例子

公制设计需要仔细考虑并解决所有的挑战,然后再进入第四步,创建一个仪表板。需要考虑的问题包括。

  • 与业务目标直接联系
  • 一个分层的方法
  • 准确收集和验证数据以防止博弈的能力
  • 确保适当的人收到执行纠正行动所需的数据

第4步:故事板演示--漂亮与实用

仪表盘创建过程中的下一步是实际开始视觉化地组织和显示数据。为了做好这一点,它应该被设计成讲述一个联系紧密的、易于理解的故事。仪表盘应该包含图形、图表,以及在近距离观看时有意义的视觉效果。视觉应该允许最少的有意识的思考来理解它所代表的数据,然后采取行动。

为了确保图表能够快速操作,提前进行一些思考以确定触发器和控制限制是有帮助的。触发器是一个阈值,如果达到一个限制,就会自动开始一个预先定义的行动,或者允许任何查看仪表盘的人手动做出决定,并开始预先确定的下一个步骤来解决这个问题。控制限值是一个指标的最小和最大允许值,它被认为是 "在控制之中"。因此,一个超出这些预定限制的值被认为是 "失控 "的,通过使条件可见,很容易确定必须采取行动来解决这个条件。

MAN链接图

图2 - 用不同的视觉技术来看待风险管理

在选择图表设计时,重要的是要了解基于目标受众的有效决策所需的细节水平。图2显示了一系列不同的图表,都描述了相同的风险状况。考虑一下流行的 "交通灯 "图表,根据它所链接的指标的状态,描绘出红色、黄色或绿色。这种类型的图表有两个内在的隐患。首先,大多数人只对处于红色区域的项目采取行动,错误地认为非红色项目并不关键,因此不需要采取有效行动。其次,该图表不显示趋势信息。在现实中,基础数据可以预测今天处于黄色的东西明天会变成红色。在选择图表类型时必须谨慎,这样才能在视觉上的愉悦和功能信息之间取得平衡。

第5步:为挖掘而设计,而不是为NASA而设计。

设计师在完成步骤4时经常看到的一个困难是,它包含如此多的图表和视觉显示,以至于它开始类似于你期望在NASA的任务控制中心看到的东西。

第5步,我戏称为 "为挖掘而设计",是关于对第4步中开发的信息进行优先排序。这里的关键是要设计一个分层的仪表盘。顶层可以包含最高级的信息,通过向下钻取,或选择一个组或图表,可以发现数据的来源,相关的图表,或其他分层指标,以协助执行有效的行动。

净促进者得分

图3 - 优先 "第一层 "指标和深入 "第二层 "指标

一个传闻中的最佳做法是,一个仪表盘层在任何时候都不应该有超过六(6)个重要的数据显示;这源于对大脑在任何时候都能跟踪多少个离散的数据渠道的研究。这似乎是一个有限的方法,但如果是为挖掘而设计的,仪表盘应该为用户提供在需要时快速获得最有用的数据的能力。图3中显示了一个钻取的例子,说明了在需要时如何快速消化额外的信息。仪表盘设计的钻取方法允许人们平衡分层指标的能力来讲述一个故事,迅速帮助处于压力下的决策者有效地控制局势。

对平衡的追求

认识到仪表盘是一个帮助决策过程的工具。这只是简单地对业务进行建模,排除干扰,并将注意力集中在关键数据上,以促进准确和及时的决策--这可能需要在时间紧迫的情况下做出。如果在开发仪表盘之前不退一步,认识到这个系统是什么,以及它不是什么,就很容易落入一个陷阱,认为定量数据总是胜过定性数据。好的决策者应该总是使用所有可用的工具,而不是被一个单一的工具所迷惑,并期望它为他们做所有的工作。一个漂亮的仪表盘的诱惑会让人们忘记一些数据可能仍然是错误的,可能是由于收集错误,"系统的游戏,或者由于环境的变化而打破了指标设计中的假设。不管是什么情况,仪表盘系统和设计,就像其他流程一样,必须定期审查其准确性、相关性和与业务目标的一致性。

快乐的设计!

 

关于Kepner-Tregoe

Kepner-Tregoe是问题解决的领导者。六十多年来,Kepner-Tregoe通过更有效的根本原因分析和决策技能,帮助全球数以千计的组织解决了数百万个问题。Kepner-Tregoe与各组织合作,通过以下方式大大降低了成本并提高了运营绩效
解决问题的培训、技术和咨询服务。

相关的

高风险的故障排除

高风险的故障排除

金融服务企业如何消除技术债务

我们是以下方面的专家:

联系我们

如需咨询、了解详情,或提出建议!

eng

Staying in Control – Designing Dashboards and Metrics to Improve Thinking Under Pressure

The Power of Visual Information

Dashboarding and the concepts of real-time, easily accessible information for the purposes of decision making, are not new concepts. In fact, some might be surprised to learn that origins of digital dashboarding for decision support systems stem back as far as the 1970s. Even with this great heritage, it is still evident that for many organizations, the dashboard is a highly misunderstood, poorly constructed infographic that looks better as part of a software demo than a day-to-day management tool.

A dashboard in its simplest form is intended to present a collection of complex and relevant data through a series of visuals. The most familiar dashboard is the automobile instrument cluster. The purpose of the instrument cluster is to give the driver updates on various conditions: speed, direction of travel, remaining fuel, time of day, vehicle mileage, etc. By glancing at this information display, the driver can make quick, effortless decisions to stop for fuel, increase or decrease speed, or consider upcoming preventative maintenance requirements and needs. Similarly, a business dashboard — especially one tuned for a technology environment — should allow information to be digested as quickly as possible so that effective decisions can be made.

The key difference in an effective dashboard system is the ability to reduce the complexity of the information being presented, and allow the human mind to subconsciously take over and accurately compute — recognizing right, wrong, good, or bad conditions instantly so that appropriate action can be taken.

The Power of Visualization

Figure 1a depicts a series of books out of order. Assume these books are manuals, and part of a set of commonly used reference materials. If individuals simply take a book, and return it ad-hoc, a simple question such as “Which book is missing?”, or “Where is the system diagram manual?” can actually become a small challenge. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not taxing. However, it does require conscious effort and brain cycles to answer.

Figure 1 — The Power of Visual Information

Figure 1_The Power of Visual Information

In order to overcome situations like these, most people number or alphabetize a series of manuals in a set, as in Figure 1b. The system depicted in 1b seems simple, easy-to-use, and it reduces complexity. In many organizations, a numbered or alphabetized system is thought to be best-practice, and so it remains for an organization. Similar to most dashboards, this system can still be improved but most don’t take the effort to do so because they already believe that further optimization is not necessary. A good dashboard should be optimized for ultimate simplicity. If we were to return to the images in Figure 1, Figure 1c would represent a successful book ordering method that reduced complexity. The simple technique of drawing a line across the spines of the book is simple, yet it allows the brain to take over subconsciously, allowing one to immediately understand which book is missing — if any — and where it should be located, in order. This is the true power of visual information.

Step 1: Develop Objectives — Use Organizational Needs to Drive Information Collection, Not the Other Way Around

When working with organizational dashboards, understanding the purpose and starting design from the ground-up is critical. The business must take appropriate time to ensure that the questions being answered by the dashboard are relevant, and relate to a well thought out series of objectives. We start the process by asking questions based on KT’s Decision Analysis methodology and listing responses:

  • “What’s important to our organization/department/group/product?”
  • “What would we like to minimize or maximize?”
  • “What are the keys to success in our environment?”

When responses have been generated, it is best to take a second look and arrange them in the categories or the natural groupings they represent. This way, when a discussion is complete, it is easier for everyone involved to step back and ensure that the objectives are appropriate and balanced for the business needs.

Table 1 — Sample Categories and Objectives Table

Table 1_Sample Categories and Objectives Table

Step 2: Identify Your Audience – Avoiding Information Overload

Not everyone requires the same amount of visibility into an end process. The CIO of an organization, for instance, might be interested in how Service Level Agreements (SLAs) are being met, and what the current cost of service is, whereas an application administrator might be more interested in the free disk space percentages on each of their servers, and the current uptime of critical assets. Common pitfalls at this stage include trying to design a single catch-all metric; including too much information; and wishing information to be a part of the dashboard simply because “we have the data.” The design of a dashboard should be focused around an individual, or a group of users that are empowered to make decisions and act upon the information that is being presented.

The goal of Step 2 is to prioritize and connect the objectives gathered in Step 1 for each group or individual that has been identified. Ideally, this step should be done with the members of the group for whom you are designing the dashboard, so that they may identify gaps and be able to share their needs with the designer.

This step should also include a rigorous clearing-out of unnecessary metrics. A recent CIO customer of KT inherited a metric pack of 192 indicators of business success. When the CIO asked the questions, “What do I do if this goes up?” and “What do I do if this goes down?”, those metrics were reduced to less than six.

Step 3: Create Metrics, Not Mess!

Designing and selecting appropriate metrics is a task that must be embarked on with great care. It is listed as Step 3 for good reason; too many organizations select metrics, and then build a process around them – leading to frustration and poor business results. Table 2, as shown below, details the questions required (based on KT’s Decision Analysis methodology) to create effective metrics.

Table 2 — Steps for Effective Metric Creation

Table 2_Steps for Effective Metric Creation

The most important thing to remember in this step is that although a wide-variety of metrics may be available to measure best-in-class service, not all of them may be appropriate or tell the complete story of your organization/department/group/product. Consider the value to both the customer and the business of a given metric.

A common pitfall in metric design is viewing metrics in isolation. Viewing metrics in isolation can lead to incorrect conclusions and drastic decision making, as you are relying on only one metric to tell a story. Although some metrics have been researched and have been shown to be quite accurate in depicting a story, such as Net Promoter Score (NPS) or more recently its successor, the Customer Effort Score (CES), these have been the exception, and not the rule. The best practice in metric design is to layer a series of metrics, thus using multiple sources of inputs to create a picture to aid in decision making rather than relying on a single metric and making incorrect assumptions. Table 3, shown below, depicts a series of metrics: a particular condition one might observe; the common thinking most would jump to after viewing the metric in its condition; and a sample reality that shows just how poorly the metric told the complete story.

Table 3 — The Folly of Relying on Metrics in Isolation

Table 3_The Folly of Relying on Metrics in Isolation

Another common pitfall in metric design is not spending enough time in Step 2, that is getting to know your audience. By doing this, a designer might choose a metric that they don’t realize is easy to “game.” When a metric is “gamed”, inputs into the metric are purposefully manipulated to distort the picture, thus making an organization/department/group/product seem better than it is. Table 4 is a list of examples of metrics that are well intentioned, but upon closer inspection, easy to “game”.

Table 4 — Common Metrics and Examples of System “Gaming”

Table 4_Common Metrics and Examples of System "Gaming"

Metric design requires careful consideration and resolution of all challenges before proceeding to Step 4 and creating a dashboard. Issues to consider include:

  • Direct connection to business objectives
  • A layered approach
  • The ability to accurately collect & verify data to prevent gaming
  • Ensuring that appropriate individuals receive the data needed to perform corrective action

Step 4: Storyboard Presentation – Pretty vs. Functional

The next step in the dashboard creation process is to actually start to visually organize and display data. In order to do this well, it should be designed to tell a well-connected, and easy to follow story. The dashboard should contain graphs, charts, and visuals that have meaning when viewed in close proximity. The visual should allow for the least amount of conscious thinking required to understand and then take action on the data it represents.

To ensure that charts are quickly actionable, it is helpful to perform some thinking in advance to determine triggers and control limits. Triggers are a threshold value that automatically begins a pre-defined action if a limit is reached, or allow anyone viewing the dashboard to manually make a decision and begin pre-determined next steps to resolve the condition. Control limits are minimum and maximum allowable values of a metric for it to be considered “in-control.” A value that is outside these pre-determined limits is therefore considered “out-of-control” and by making the condition visible it is easy to determine that action must be taken to resolve the condition.

MAN Link Diagram

Figure 2 — Risk Management as Viewed with Different Visual Techniques

It is important when selecting a chart design to understand the level of detail required for effective decision making based on the intended audience. Figure 2 shows a series of different charts all depicting the same risk conditions. Consider the popular “traffic-light” chart, depicting Red, Yellow, or Green, depending on the status of the metric it is linked to. This type of chart has two built-in pitfalls. Firstly, most will only take action on items that are in the red zone, incorrectly suggesting that non-red items are not critical and therefore do not require effective action. Secondly, the chart does not show trend information. In reality, the underlying data could predict that something today in yellow will turn red tomorrow. Care must be taken in selecting chart type so that a balance between visually pleasing and functional information can be displayed.

Step 5: Design for Digging, not for NASA.

A difficulty often seen when designers are completing Step 4 is that it contains so many graphs and visual displays that it begins to resemble something you would expect to see at NASA’s mission control.

Step 5, which I jokingly call “Designing for Digging,” is about prioritizing the information developed in Step 4. The key here is to design a dashboard that is layered. The top layer could contain the most high-level information, and by drilling down, or selecting a group or chart, one could uncover the source of the data, related graphs, or other layered metrics to assist in performing effective actions.

Net Promoter Score

Figure 3 — Priority “First- Tier” Metric, and Drill Down “Second-Tier” Metrics

An anecdotal best-practice is that a dashboard layer should have no more than six (6) important pieces of data displayed at any one time; this stems from research on how many discrete channels of data the mind can keep track of at any one time. It may seem like a limited approach, but if designed for digging, a dashboard should provide the user with the ability to get to the most useful data quickly when required. An example of drilling is shown in figure 3, illustrating how additional information can quickly be digested if required. The drill down approach to dashboard design allows one to balance the abilities of layered metrics to tell a story, quickly aiding an under-pressure decision maker to control the situation effectively.

A Quest for Balance

Recognize the dashboard as a tool to help aid in the decision making process. This is simply modeling the business, removing distraction, and focusing on key data to facilitate accurate and timely decision making — which may need to be made in a time critical setting. Without taking a step back before developing a dashboard and recognizing the system for what it is, and what it is not, one could easily fall into the trap of thinking that quantitative data will always trump qualitative data. Good decision makers should always use all the tools available to them, not just be transfixed by a single tool, and expect it to do all the work for them. The allure of a pretty dashboard can trick people into forgetting that some of the data could still be erroneous, either due to collection error, “gaming of the system, or an assumption in metric design being broken due to a changing environment. Whatever the case may be, the dashboard system and design, like other processes, must be regularly reviewed for accuracy, relevance, and alignment to business objectives.

Happy designing!

 

About Kepner-Tregoe

Kepner-Tregoe is the leader in problem-solving. For over six decades, Kepner-Tregoe has helped thousands of organizations worldwide solve millions of problems through more effective root cause analysis and decision-making skills. Kepner-Tregoe partners with organizations to significantly reduce cost and improve operational performance through
problem-solving training, technology and consulting services.

Related

High-Stakes Troubleshooting

High-Stakes Troubleshooting

How Financial Services Firms Are Eliminating Tech Debt

Contact Us

For inquiries, details, or a proposal!