面临的挑战

在最近的一次人口普查中,一名男子告诉普查员,他有三个孩子。当问及他们的年龄时,他回答说:"他们年龄的乘积是72。他们的年龄之和与我的门牌号相同"。

人口普查员跑到那人的前门,看了看门牌号。"我还是看不出来 "她抱怨道。那人回答说:"哦,对了,我忘了告诉你,最大的那个喜欢吃巧克力布丁。"然后,人口普查员迅速写下了这三个孩子的年龄。他们有多大了?

 

 

解答

这个脑筋急转弯的关键是,人口普查员看的是门牌号。换句话说,她知道孩子们的年龄之和。然而,在谜语的这一点上,她仍然无法判断这个男人的孩子有多大。因此,她不得不在多种可能性之间徘徊。

为了进一步缩小范围,只有两组乘以72的数字有相同的和。(2,6,6)和(3,3,8)。然而,在该男子透露他最大的孩子喜欢巧克力布丁后,人口普查员可以区分这两个选项。也就是说,只有这两组中的后者有一个明显的 "最大 "的孩子。

eng

 

CHALLENGE

During a recent census, a man told the census taker that he had three children. When asked their ages, he replied, “The product of their ages is 72. The sum of their ages is the same as my house number.”

The census taker ran to the man’s front door and looked at the house number. “I still can’t tell” she complained. The man replied, “Oh that’s right, I forgot to tell you that the oldest one likes chocolate pudding.” The census taker then promptly wrote down the ages of the three children. How old are they?

 

 

ANSWER

The key to this brain teaser is that the census taker looks at the house number. In other words, she knows the sum of the children’s ages. However, at that point of the riddle, she still can’t tell how old the man’s children are. Therefore, she has to be stuck between multiple possibilities.

To narrow it down further, only two sets of numbers that multiply to 72 share the same sum: (2,6,6) and (3,3,8). After the man reveals that his oldest child likes chocolate pudding, however, the census taker can differentiate between the two options. That is, only the latter of those two sets has a distinct “oldest” child.