凯撒的生存,CEO离职时的战略明确性

人们所做的坏事在他们之后继续存在;善事常常与他们的遗体一起被埋葬....。      - 威廉-莎士比亚,凯撒大帝III,ii

首席执行官的寿命越来越短,这对董事会的作用提出了严重的问题。根据你听谁说的,首席执行官的平均寿命在三到四年之间,而且还在下降。

此外,在职的首席执行官通常要花6个月左右的时间在办公桌下站稳脚跟,然后再进行战略调整。而那些不幸的人在他们执政的最后6个月里,会把精力放在运营上,以支撑数字,徒劳地试图保住他们的工作。因此,首席执行官在战略方向上花费的平均时间比他们的 "寿命 "要短--也许是两三年时间。

但是,你上次看到时间这么短的公司战略是什么时候?企业战略被设想为需要更长的时间。人们的看法是,任何少于三年的东西都不是战略,只是长期规划。在一个极端,在运输、重型工程和自然资源行业,战略的时间框架可以达到10年或15年的程度。根据我们的经验,对于大多数其他企业来说,五年似乎是常态。换句话说,当首席执行官跳槽(或被推到)时,公司将在通往未来战略目的地的旅程中走一段路,而飞行员刚刚跳伞。

在战术上,在这一点上,公司的方向又回到了董事会。他们有两个紧迫的优先事项。首先是如何处理 "间歇期"--从第一任CEO离职到第二任CEO上任的这段时间。

如果首席执行官的离职是有计划的,这可能会很顺利--2002年9月通用电气公司的杰弗里-伊梅尔特(Jeffrey Immelt)接替杰克-韦尔奇(Jack Welch)就是一个例子,过渡相当顺利。但如果离职计划不周,生活就会变得非常混乱。

例如,在1999年,巴克莱银行在一年内烧掉了三位首席执行官。这种不确定性的影响是深远的。股价不可避免地受到打击,新来的人立即开始防守,而且可能需要很长时间才能恢复业务平衡。巴克莱的最终成功候选人马修-巴雷特(现为主席)花了几年时间才使他们恢复到平衡状态。

但这与新主管到任后董事会面临的第二个优先事项相比就显得微不足道了:目前的战略应该怎么做?

新扫帚

新任首席执行官的自然倾向是把它扔掉。他或她毕竟是为了给公司带来战略上的变化而被聘用的。而且,如果以前的现任者是在阴云密布的情况下离开的,那么重新开始的诱惑确实很大。

但这往往是个错误。如果前任被解雇(假设不是因为他或她被发现把手放在钱柜里),那么很可能是因为没有执行一个合理的战略,而不是因为战略本身。例如,PeopleSoft公司让首席执行官克雷格-康威离职,是因为他未能阻止甲骨文的敌意收购,而不是因为PeopleSoft公司董事会认为抵制甲骨文是错误的战略决策。

首席执行官的失败不一定是战略的失败,将两者等同起来可能是个错误。

不要忘了,战略的转变需要时间,会扰乱股价,需要大量的投资,会让你最好的员工偏离轨道,而且不能保证它能成功。你需要一个非常好的理由来接受这种程度的痛苦--而首席执行官想要制造轰动效应的愿望可能不符合条件。仅仅因为你有一把新的扫帚,并不意味着这个房间需要清扫。

在转型时期,任何有价值的董事会都需要了解其战略作用。企业战略不是CEO的战略,而是公司的战略。当CEO离开时,战略监护人的角色就落到了董事会身上。

无论首席执行官的地位如何,任何有能力的董事会都会在其正常的战略责任之上。例如,董事会应该负责制定财务参数和战略应该实现的预期,并代表股东监督这些参数的表现。

他们也是公司价值观的监护人,能够要求任何人--包括首席执行官--对其遵守公司的道德和理想价值观的情况负责。董事会未能让高管对公司价值观负责,这在一定程度上直接导致了近年来的公司治理丑闻,如安然、世通、帕玛拉特、麦克斯韦和波利佩克。

但在首席执行官的过渡期,董事会的责任会增加。显然,他们有一项沟通工作要做--对公司、对股东、对监管机构和媒体。这种沟通应该事先计划好--关键信息:战略连续性。

董事会的第二项任务是确保他们所传达的战略连续性在事实上发生,而不仅仅是为了让市场满意。

值得记住的是,一个组织内的公司政治程度与人们的焦虑感成正比--如果人们没有安全感,他们就会采取政治手段来保证自己的工作或获得晋升。首席执行官闭会期间正是这样一个时期,行政部门的人争夺地位,或为确保他们不被前一任政府所玷污而斗争。政治是由焦虑引起的;焦虑是由不安全感引起的;不安全感是由不确定性引起的。董事会必须利用他们作为战略监护人的角色,将这种不确定性降到最低。要做到这一点,他们必须清楚地知道他们需要支持战略的哪些方面。在这里,将公司战略的概念与战略计划区分开来是很有用的。就我们而言,战略关注的是目的地:它设定了指南针。计划则是如何到达目的地--地图。

战略指南针

战略愿景--目的地--主要用于指导公司今天的决策:它为知情决策提供一个框架--指南针。另一方面,战略计划是由战略驱动的。计划经常变化,而战略则不太一样。

当你的员工明确地利用你的战略来制定今天的管理决策时,你就知道你的战略正在产生业务影响。而关键是战略,而不是计划。

例如,乐购近年来的增长正是由这样的战略明确性所推动的。他们所有可见的战略决策似乎都有一个共同的目标,即建立一个网络,尽可能方便地将家庭用品分配给消费者。一旦这个网络建立起来,他们就会尽可能多地通过这个渠道进行销售。

因此,乐购是最早使用互联网的公司之一,由他们现有的商店网络提供服务。他们继续购买当地商店,以尽可能地接近消费者。他们正在殖民汽油前厅,以获得驾车者的英镑。他们率先在超市里销售消费者保险。他们所做的一切都是为了扩大网络,增加产品和服务的范围,并将其推向管道。因为他们有这种明确性,他们主要不是在价格上竞争(留给Kwik-Save或Aldi),也不是在质量上竞争(像Waitrose或Marks & Spencer)。如果乐购失去了他们的首席执行官特里-莱希(Terry Leahy),甚至把最新版本的 "三年战略计划 "放错了地方,乐购的每个人都会知道每天该做什么,以保持业务向前发展,直到新的首席执行官上任。是他们的战略眼光,而不是他们的计划,决定了他们的日常决策。

大多数组织都缺乏这样的清晰度--而且大多数都不像特易购那样成功。首席执行官通常被认为是战略的一部分--事实上,媒体和许多分析家都积极鼓励这种看法。因此,当CEO离开时,公司的行为就好像战略也离开了一样。这是一条危险的道路。

例如,2004年12月,加拿大航空航天公司庞巴迪的首席执行官Paul Tellier被迫离职,围绕这一事件发生了动荡。接替他的是主要股东家族的成员皮埃尔-博杜安。董事会没有表明战略的连续性,而是明确表示他的离开标志着战略方向的突然改变。结果呢?该公司的股票在一天内下跌了17%,分析师将该公司列入负面信用观察。

毫无疑问,首席执行官的离职是战略分歧的结果;也毫无疑问,这种变化是合理的、有根据的,但通过将领导层变化的消息与需要一个新的战略方向的消息放在一起,董事会实际上几乎肯定会损害企业。

董事会在更换领导层的同时发出信号,表示将暂时保持战略连续性,这样做不是更好吗?然后,新的首席执行官将有一个喘息的空间,在宣布有计划和有控制的方向转变之前进行战略审查,制定一个新的战略计划。相反,他不得不立即开始背水一战,从一开始就为公司的立场向分析师辩护,并立即承受压力,展示恢复股价的行动。这不是一个战略角色最有利的开端。

我在这里并不是说,需要变革的公司不应该这样做;我也不是说,不应该让人们看到CEO推动、领导和拥有公司战略。相反,我认为董事会将战略的所有权完全交给CEO是一个错误--考虑到CEO相对于典型企业战略的寿命,这个错误将由董事会来弥补。

在清晰与动荡之间

大多数公司都处于这两个极端之间--它们的战略清晰度不如特易购,但面临的动荡却不如庞巴迪。即便如此,董事会在管理战略领导权变化方面的工作也是至关重要的。

今天,董事会比以往任何时候都更关注风险。最近的事件和监管趋势意味着董事会不仅要认识到风险,而且要证明他们已经采取了所有合理的行动来管理这些风险。

首席执行官过早离职是许多董事会在未来几年将面临的一个可预见的战略风险。如果是这样,董事会--也许是以审计委员会的形式--应该制定一个行动计划来管理这种情况,这难道不是合理的吗?

这个计划应该包含哪些内容?首先,董事会应该提前打好基础。董事会成员需要分享并理解驱动组织的战略框架的核心要素。特别是,他们应该拥有公司的基本道德信念和公司努力实现的愿景。董事会成员应该在正常的工作中,传达他们对这一愿景和这些信念的坚持,从而减少市场对CEO与战略的认同倾向。

其次,他们应该计划关于首席执行官离职的任何沟通中所包含的关键内容。这些内容应包括重申公司的核心信念和战略参数,目的是确保适当的战略连续性。当然,这种沟通应始终注意市场披露规则。

第三,他们应该与首席执行官一起设计这个计划,作为正常的风险规划的一部分。

然后他们应该把计划收起来,直到他们需要它。

当CEO离职时,往往是在董事会的要求下进行的。如果你代表你的股东挥舞这把刀,你也需要承担起责任,将他们的利益损失降到最低。事先知道当它发生时你将如何处理:风险太可预测了--而且太重要了--不能在热血中管理。

相关的

如何缩小战略制定和执行之间的差距

在不断变化的环境中管理参与度

我们是以下方面的专家:

联系我们

如需咨询、了解详情,或提出建议!

eng

Surviving Caesar, Strategic Clarity When the CEO Departs

The evil that men do lives after them; The good is oft interred with their bones….      – William Shakespeare, Julius Caesar III,ii

The life of the CEO is getting shorter – and this raises serious questions about the role of the board. Depending upon whom you listen to, the average lifespan of a CEO in their role is between three and four years – and going down.

Moreover, incumbent CEOs usually take six months or so to get their feet under the desk before making strategic changes. And the unfortunate ones spend the last six months of their reign concentrating on operations to shore up the numbers, in vain attempts to save their jobs. So the average time that a CEO spends at the strategic tiller is shorter still than their ‘lifespan’ would suggest – maybe two-three years.

But when was the last time you saw a corporate strategy with this short a timeframe? Corporate strategies are envisioned to take longer. The received wisdom is that anything less than three years isn’t a strategy, it’s just long-term planning. At one extreme, in the transport, heavy engineering and natural resources industries, the strategic timeframe can be of the order of ten or fifteen years. For most other businesses, in our experience, five years appears to be the norm. In other words, when the CEO jumps (or is pushed), the company will be some way down a journey to a strategic destination in the future – and the pilot has just bailed out.

Tactically, at this point the direction of the company reverts to the board. They have two pressing priorities. The first is how to the handle the interregnum – the time between the departure of the first CEO and the arrival of the second.

When CEO departure is planned, this can work well – Jeffrey Immelt’s succession to Jack Welch at GE in September 2002 is an example where the transition went fairly well. But when the departure is not planned well, life can become very messy indeed.

In 1999, for example, Barclays Bank burned through three CEOs in a year. The impact of such uncertainty is profound. The stock price inevitably takes a hit, the newcomer immediately begins on the defensive, and it can take a long time before the business can recover its equilibrium. It took several years before Barclay’s ultimately successful candidate, Matthew Barrett (now Chair), was able to return them to an even keel.

But this pales in comparison with the second priority facing the board when the new chief arrives: what should be done with the current strategy?

The New Broom

The new CEO’s natural inclination will be to bin it. He or she has been employed, after all, to make a strategic difference to the company. And, if the previous incumbent left under a cloud, then the temptation to start again will be strong indeed.

But this is often a mistake. If the predecessor had been fired (and assuming that it was not because he or she has been found with their hand in the till), it is as likely to be for failing to execute a sound strategy as for the strategy itself. PeopleSoft, for example, let CEO Craig Conway go for his failure to see off Oracle’s hostile takeover, and not because the PeopleSoft board thought that fighting off Oracle was the wrong strategic decision.

The failure of the CEO is not necessarily a failure of strategy, and it can be a mistake to equate the two.

And don’t forget that a shift in strategy takes time, disrupts the stock price, entails considerable investment, throws your best people off track, and has no guarantee that it will work. You need a very good reason to accept that level of pain – and the CEO’s desire to make a splash may not qualify. Simply because you have a new broom does not mean that the room needs sweeping.

At a time of transition, any board worth its salt needs to understand its strategic role. The corporate strategy is not the CEO’s strategy – it is the company’s. And when the CEO goes, the role of strategy custodian falls to the board.

Any capable board will already be on top of their normal strategic responsibilities, regardless of the status of the CEO. The board, for example, should be responsible for setting the financial parameters and expectations the strategy should deliver, and to monitor performance against these on behalf of the shareholders.

They also act as custodians of the company values, being able to call anyone – including the CEO – to account for their adherence to the ethical and aspirational values that govern the company. Failures by their boards to hold executives accountable against corporate values were, in part, direct contributors to the corporate governance scandals of recent years like Enron, Worldcom, Parmalat, Maxwell and Polly Peck.

But in CEO transition, the board’s responsibilities increase. Obviously, they have a communication job to do – to the company, to shareholders, to regulators and the media. This communication should be planned in advance – the key message: strategic continuity.

The board’s second task is to ensure the strategic continuity they are communicating actually happens in fact – and is not just to keep the markets happy.

It’s worth remembering that the degree of company politics within an organisation is directly proportionate to the anxiety people feel – if people are insecure, they will resort to political means to secure their jobs or gain promotion. A CEO interregnum is just such a time, when those in the executive suite jockey for position or fight to ensure they are not tainted by the previous administration. Politics is caused by anxiety; anxiety by insecurity; insecurity by uncertainty. The board must use their role as strategic custodians to minimise this uncertainty. To do so, they have to be clear about what aspects of the strategy they need to support. It’s useful here to separate out the idea of a company’s strategy from its strategic plans. As far as we are concerned, the strategy is concerned with the destination: it sets the compass. The plans are how to get there – the map.

Strategic Compass

The strategic vision – the destination – serves primarily to guide the decisions the company makes today: it provides a framework – a compass – for informed decision-making. Strategic plans, on the other hand, are driven by the strategy. Plans change frequently; the strategy much less so.

You know your strategy is having an operational impact when your people explicitly use it to shape today’s management decisions. And it is the strategy, not the plans, that is key.

Tesco’s growth in recent years, for example, has been fuelled by just such strategic clarity. All their visible strategic decisions appear to share a goal of creating a network to distribute household goods to consumers as conveniently as possible. Once that network is in place, they put as much down that channel as they can.

As a result, Tesco was one of the first to use the Internet, serviced by their existing network of shops. They continue to buy local stores to get as close to consumers as possible. They are colonising petrol forecourts to get the motorist’s pound. They pioneered selling consumer insurance in the supermarket. Everything they do is about extending the network and increasing the range of products and services they push down that pipeline. Because they have this clarity, they are not primarily competing on price (leaving that to Kwik-Save or Aldi), nor on premium quality (like Waitrose or Marks & Spencer). If Tesco lost Terry Leahy, their CEO, or even misplaced the latest version of their ‘three-year strategic plan,’ everyone in Tesco would know what to do, day-to-day, to keep the business moving forward until a new CEO came in place. It is their strategic vision, not their plans, that shapes their day-to-day decision-making.

Most organisations lack such clarity – and most are not as successful as Tesco. The CEO is often identified with the strategy – indeed, the media and many analysts positively encourage this belief. When the CEO goes, therefore, the company behaves as if the strategy has gone too. This is a dangerous path to go down.

Witness, for example, the turmoil surrounding the enforced departure of Paul Tellier, CEO of Canadian aerospace company Bombardier, in December 2004. He was replaced by Pierre Beaudoin, a member of the main family of shareholders. The board, instead of signalling strategic continuity, made explicit that his departure marked an abrupt change of strategic direction. Result? The stock tanked 17 per cent in a day and analysts put the company on negative credit watch.

No doubt that the CEO’s departure was the result of strategic differences; no doubt also that the change was rational and well founded, but by running together the news of the change of leadership with the news that a fresh strategic direction was needed, the board, in effect, almost certainly damaged the business.

Would it not have been better for the board to change the leadership while signalling that – for the time being – strategic continuity would be maintained? Then the new CEO would have a breathing space to conduct a strategic review before announcing a planned and controlled shift in direction, developing a fresh strategic plan. Instead, he has had to begin immediately on the back foot, defending the company’s position to the analysts from the start, and under immediate pressure to demonstrate action to restore the stock price. Not the most propitious start to a strategic role.

I am not advocating here that companies needing to change should not do so; nor am I claiming that CEOs should not be seen to drive, lead and own the company strategy. I am suggesting instead that for the board to abdicate ownership of the strategy solely to the CEO is a mistake – and given the lifespan of the CEO relative to the typical corporate strategy, it is a mistake that will fall to the board to mop up.

Between Clarity And Turbulence

Most companies fall between these two extremes – they have less strategic clarity than Tesco, but face less turbulence than Bombardier. Even so, the board’s job managing the change in strategic leadership is critical.

Today, boards are more concerned about risk than they have ever been. Recent events and regulatory trends mean that boards have not only to be cognisant of risk, but have to demonstrate that they have taken all reasonable actions to manage them.

The premature departure of a CEO is a predictable strategic risk that many boards will face in the next few years. If so, is it not reasonable that the board – maybe in the form of the Audit Committee – should have in place an action plan to manage the situation?

What should this plan contain? First, the board should lay the groundwork in advance. The board members need to share and understand the core elements of the strategic framework driving the organisation. In particular, they should own the company’s basic ethical beliefs and the vision that the company is striving to achieve. Board members should, as a matter of normal working, communicate that they hold to this vision and these beliefs, thus reducing the tendency of the markets to identify the CEO with the strategy.

Second, they should plan the key elements that will be contained in any communication on the departure of the CEO. These elements should include a restatement of the core beliefs and strategic parameters of the company, with the goal of ensuring appropriate strategic continuity. Such communication, of course, should always be mindful of market disclosure rules.

Third, they should design this plan with the CEO, as part of normal planning for risk.

Then they should put the plan away, until they need it.

When a CEO goes, it is often at the behest of the board. If you wield the knife on behalf of your shareholders, you need also to take responsibility for minimising the damage to their interests afterwards. Know, in advance, how you will deal with it when it happens: the risk is too predictable – and too important – to be managed in hot blood.

Related

How to close the gap between strategy formulation and execution

Managing Involvement in a Changing Environment

Contact Us

For inquiries, details, or a proposal!