战略与中层管理者

战略就是愿景。它阐明了一个组织的性质和方向,是其文化的基础。如果中层管理者认为他们没有从组织的战略中获得足够的指导,他们有三种选择。

  1. 抱怨。他们可以哀叹缺乏来自高层的明确方向。
  2. 猜测。他们可以根据对战略的假设来确定优先事项。
  3. 站出来。他们可以积极主动地推动战略的澄清,并发挥有意义的战略作用。

中层管理者并不创造组织的战略计划--他们只是决定计划的成败。如果你不帮助他们履行其战略角色,他们就不会进行战略管理。

正如宇航员在飞行中的所有行为(如导航、吃饭、做实验)都是在飞船环境中进行的,一个组织的行为(如研究、营销、质量控制)也应该在其战略的背景下进行。如同太空舱内的气氛一样,有效的战略并不与组织的日常业务工作相分离;它环绕、渗透并指导着这些工作。

由于战略在一个组织中发挥着至关重要的作用,制定战略是高层管理团队的责任。它不能委托给专门的战略规划人员(尽管他们可以做出重大贡献),也不能从组织内向上渗透的长期计划中产生。只有首席执行官和构成其高级职员的少数经理人能够回答上述的关键问题。

但是,没有实施的规划是毫无价值的。战略上的弱点往往可以追溯到未能有效地实施一个精心制定的战略,也可以追溯到战略本身的不明确或不彻底。正如一个组织必须有意识地制定其战略一样,它也必须有意识地计划其实施。这就是中层管理者的作用。

无论高层团队如何清晰地阐述其对未来的愿景,如果没有 "中层管理者 "的重大贡献,这个愿景就不会成为现实。"中层管理者 "是一个宽泛的术语,其范围可以从直接向高层团队报告的管理人员一直到二级主管,在某些情况下,还有一级主管。虽然中层管理者并不直接参与战略的制定--决定组织是什么和将成为什么--但他们在战略的实施中起着重要作用--决定组织如何达到目标。

很少有中层管理者了解他们的关键作用或知道如何发挥这种作用。你的组织的中层管理者怎么样?第32页的图表提供了一些问题,帮助你衡量他们的 "战略智商"。

危险的假设

在美国和国外的公共和私营部门组织中,有一系列关于战略和中层管理者的假设在起作用。它们是陷阱。它们会阻碍执行工作的进行。其中包括。

  • 最高管理层已经为组织制定了明确的战略。 如果组织事实上没有制定一个至少能回答第一段所列问题的战略,那么中层管理者在发挥其战略作用时就会受到阻碍。
  • 如果组织有明确的战略,中层管理者就知道它是什么。 中层管理者不应该为了了解战略而去阅读政策备忘录的字里行间,或者破译高层管理行为的模式。如果高层团队没有正式传达战略(而且,通常没有理由保密),中层管理者可能不知道它是什么。如果他们不知道这个战略,他们怎么能用它来指导自己的决策?
  • 由于中层管理者的职责主要是运营,他们不必了解组织战略的细节。 前面的假设是,中层管理者已经知道了这个战略。这个假设是,他们不需要知道。中层管理者确实在运营领域("如何做")而不是在战略领域发挥作用。但是,如果他们缺乏一个可以发挥作用的战略背景,他们就不可能在履行其业务职责时取得最佳效果。

业务问题包括选择和培训人员、购买设备、提高生产力、分配研究重点、设计营销方案、建立报告关系、选择新设施的地点以及设计会计系统等方面的决策。如果中层管理者被要求在没有高层管理者的明确指导下做出这类决定,那么他们就是在战略真空中运作,而高层管理者的指导包括组织的各种产品和服务的范围、客户群、打算追求的新业务类型、打算强调的市场、打算发展的技能和能力、以及增长和回报的期望。

讨论分享信息的主题时,往往认为主要问题是友好。"高层管理者告诉员工正在发生的事情是很好的,因为这让每个人都觉得自己是团队的一部分",等等。向中层管理者说明组织的战略,并不是一个友好的问题。如果中层管理人员要想在工作中为组织的未来做出贡献,他们就需要知道这个战略。

例如,假设一家公司生产水泵,并专门向公用事业部门销售。假设该公司的战略是为其现有产品争取其他行业的客户,也包括公用事业。支持这一战略的研究和营销决策需要完全不同于在战略方向上增加产品线以满足公司现有公用事业客户更广泛需求的决策。做出这些决定的中层管理人员必须了解该战略。

  • 中层管理者了解组织的战略方向,因为他们已经看到了组织的长期计划。 长期计划通常包括一系列由某些个人或部门在规定时间内采取的行动。它们是 "如何 "方面的重要工具。然而,如果这些计划没有指出各种行动的战略依据,那么它们就不是传达中层管理者所需的 "什么 "信息的有效工具。例如,为什么要修改一个产品,调整一个功能,或者安装一个简化的生产流程?
  • 如果组织的战略已经明确建立和沟通,中层管理者就会用它来指导他们的运营决策。 知道并不一定会导致行动。高层团队和中层管理者都需要将战略与中层管理者的工作职责联系起来。首先,每个中层管理者所在的单位都应该有一个使命宣言(一个整体的 "存在理由"),说明本单位对组织战略的贡献。其次,中层管理者需要对自己的工作职责进行 "战略思考",并认识到他们采取的每一项行动都应在某种程度上帮助组织实施其战略。他们应该问,也应该被问:"这对我们的战略方向有什么贡献?"

此外,中层管理者应该对他们的战略贡献负责。战略应该是衡量每个中层管理者业绩的标准之一。一个销售经理当然应该根据业务标准进行评估,比如创造的收入和销售的平均成本等方面。然而,他或她的业绩也应该与战略标准相比较。例如,对新业务的追求和新业务的百分比是否与高层团队所期望的方向一致?销售活动和结果是否与最高管理层希望对各种产品和市场的重视相一致?

为了进一步确保中层管理者履行其战略责任,他们应该因战略思维而得到奖励,即使他们需要为此牺牲短期的运营成果。例如,中层管理者的关键战略责任可能是在某一特定市场逐步淘汰某种产品,提供一种新的客户服务,或者投资培训下属,使他们获得战略所需的技能。如果仅仅以季度生产或收入数字来衡量经理,那么这些目标很可能都无法实现。

  • 中层管理人员致力于组织的战略。 中层管理者可能没有参与战略的制定,通常对战略缺乏清晰的认识。那么,为什么要假设他们支持战略呢?那些认为战略方向与他们自己对现实的看法相矛盾的人,不可能完全支持该战略。

由于中层管理者的积极支持对于战略的有效实施至关重要,他们不仅需要知道战略是什么,还需要知道战略所依据的事实和假设。例如,该战略可能假定客户购买模式的变化、新的竞争形式或没有政府监管。与中层管理者分享基础和原理,并让他们参与到实施策略的规划中,有助于建立承诺。

  • 中层管理人员正在向高层管理人员提供及时、高质量的战略信息。 它们当然应该是这样,但它们是吗?战略不能在真空中制定或实施。高层管理团队需要两类战略信息。首先,它需要关于实施状况的信息。例如,各种产品和市场是否得到了适当的重视?对新业务的追求是否与战略方向一致?必要的人员技能是否得到了发展?其次,高层团队需要了解它所制定的战略路线是否仍然是未来的最佳路线。战略可能执行得很好,但从市场反应、竞争活动、社会和经济趋势以及技术进步等因素来看,它是否 "正确"?

由于中层管理者及其员工可能最接近与硬币两面有关的信息,他们的另一项战略责任是收集、分析这些信息,并将其与建议一起提交给高层管理者。然后,高层团队可以利用这些信息和建议来管理实施,并在必要时对战略做出调整。这里的危险假设是,整个过程或多或少会自动发生。其实不然。

图1_战略和中层管理者

战略作用

当我们考虑这些危险的假设时,中层管理者的战略责任就开始具体化了。

  • 通过向高层团队询问具体问题的答案来了解其组织的战略。
  • 从战略上看待自己的工作,最大限度地发挥自己对战略目标的贡献,并使用战略所建议的标准来指导自己的工作。
  • 收集有关战略实施的信息(事情进展如何?)以及战略本身是否 "正确"。
  • 提供信息和建议两方面的反馈,使最高管理层能够指导实施工作,必要时调整战略。

中层管理者的这些角色表明高层管理团队有一套相应的责任。

  • 向中层管理人员传达战略(包括其理由)。
  • 帮助中层管理人员将其单位任务和工作职责与战略联系起来。怎么做?通过提供培训,让他们了解自己的战略角色,帮助他们培养战略管理所需的技能;根据战略和业务标准评估他们的表现;奖励战略和业务成就。
  • 向中层管理者描述高层管理者需要的各种 "战略信息",以指导和微调战略。
  • 利用中层管理者提供的信息和建议,对实施工作和战略本身进行监督、评估和调整。

如果战略是一个神秘的、只有高层管理团队知道的山顶概念,那么它就无法推动组织的运作。为了使愿景成为现实,中层管理者必须发挥关键的战略作用。而为了有效地发挥这一作用,他们需要接受培训。他们需要培训来帮助澄清他们对组织战略的理解(这个过程往往能帮助高层管理者澄清自己的理解);帮助他们从战略的角度来定义自己的工作职责和绩效标准;学会在战略的背景下管理自己的日常活动;收集并向高层管理者提供战略信息和建议。一个组织能否成功实施其战略,在很大程度上取决于中层管理者学习和实践这些技能的程度。

相关的

挑战事件管理文化

创造新的领导者。从消防员到战略远见者的转变

我们是以下方面的专家:

联系我们

如需咨询、了解详情,或提出建议!

eng

Strategy and the Middle Manager

Strategy is vision. It is the articulation of an organization’s nature and direction and the foundation for its culture. Middle managers who don’t think they are getting sufficient guidance from their organizations’ strategy have three options.

  1. Whine. They can bemoan the lack of clear direction from the top.
  2. Guess. They can set priorities based on assumptions about strategy.
  3. Step up. They can proactively force strategy clarification and carve out a meaningful strategic role.

Middle managers don’t create an organization’s strategic plan—they just determine whether it succeeds or fails. And they won’t manage strategically if you don’t help them fulfill their strategic role.

Just as all of an astronaut’s in-flight behaviors (e.g., navigating, eating, conducting experiments) are carried out within the context of the spacecraft environment, an organization’s behaviors (e.g., research, marketing, quality control) should be carried out within the context of its strategy. Like the atmosphere in the capsule, an effective strategy is not separate from an organization’s day-today operational endeavors; it surrounds, permeates and guides them.

Because of the paramount role that strategy plays in an organization, formulating strategy is the responsibility of the top management team. It cannot be delegated to specialized strategic planners (although they can make significant staff contributions) or forged from the long-range plans that percolate upward in an organization. Only the chief executive officer and the small number of managers that constitute his or her senior staff are in a position to answer the key questions listed above.

But planning is worthless without implementation. Strategic weakness can be traced as often to the failure to implement a well-formulated strategy effectively as it can to a lack of clarity or thoroughness in the strategy itself. Just as an organization must consciously create its strategy, it must consciously plan its implementation. That’s where middle managers come into the picture.

No matter how clearly the top team has articulated its vision of the future, that vision will not become reality without significant contributions from “middle management”—a loose term for a group that can span the spectrum from managers who report directly to the top team all the way to second-level and, in some cases, first level supervisors. While middle managers do not participate directly in the formulation of strategy— deciding what the organization is and will be—they are instrumental in its implementation— determining how the organization will get there.

Few middle managers understand their pivotal role or know how to play it. What about your organization’s middle managers? The figure on page 32 offers some questions to help you gauge their “Strategic I.Q.”

Dangerous Assumptions

In public and private-sector organizations, in the United States and abroad, a certain series of assumptions holds sway regarding strategy and the middle manager. They’re traps. They can hamstring the implementation effort. Among them:

  • Top management has established a clear strategy for the organization. If the organization in fact has not formulated a strategy that, at minimum, answers the questions listed in the first paragraph, middle managers will be hampered in carrying out their strategic role.
  • If the organization has a clear strategy, middle managers know what it is. Middle managers should not have to read between the lines of policy memos or decipher patterns in top management behavior to learn the strategy. If the top team has not formally communicated the strategy (and, typically, there is no reason to keep it secret), middle managers may not know what it is. And if they don’t know the strategy, how can they use it to guide their decision-making?
  • Since middle managers’ responsibilities are primarily operational, they don’t have to understand the details of the organization’s strategy. The preceding assumption is that middle managers already know the strategy. This one presumes that they don’t need to know it. Middle managers do function in the operational arena (“how to do it”) rather than in the strategic realm. But they cannot be optimally effective in carrying out their operational responsibilities if they lack a strategic context in which to function.

Operational issues include decisions about selecting and training personnel, purchasing equipment, improving productivity, assigning research priorities, designing marketing programs, establishing reporting relationships, selecting sites for new facilities and designing accounting systems. Middle managers are functioning in a strategic vacuum if they are asked to make these kinds of decisions without clear guidance from top management on the scope of the organization’s various products and services, its customer groups, the types of new business it intends to pursue, the markets it intends to emphasize, the skills and capabilities it intends to develop, and its growth and return expectations.

The subject of sharing information tends to be discussed as if the primary issue is niceness: “It’s nice for top management to tell employees what’s going on, because it makes everyone feel like part of a team,” etc. Spelling out the organization’s strategy to middle managers is not a matter of being nice. Middle managers need to know the strategy if they are to do their jobs in a way that contributes to the future of the organization.

For example, suppose a company manufactures pumps and sells them exclusively to utilities. Suppose its strategy is to pursue customers in other industries, as well as utilities, for its existing products. Research and marketing decisions to support that strategy need to be entirely different from decisions that would be appropriate if the strategic direction involved adding product lines to meet a wider range of needs for the company’s present utility customers. The middle managers making those decisions must know the strategy.

  • Middle managers understand the organization’s strategic direction because they’ve seen its long-range plans. Long-range plans typically include a series of actions to be taken by certain individuals or departments within stated time frames. They are essential tools in the “how” dimension. However, if the plans don’t indicate the strategic rationale for the various actions, they are not effective vehicles for communicating the “what” information that the middle managers need. Why, for example, is a product going to be modified, a function realigned or a streamlined production process installed?
  • If the organization’s strategy has been clearly established and communicated, middle managers use it to guide their operational decisions. Knowing does not necessarily lead to doing. Both the top team and middle managers need to link the strategy to middle-management job responsibilities. First, each middle manager’s unit ought to have a mission statement (an overall “reason for being”) that describes the unit’s contribution to the organization’s strategy. Second, middle managers need to “think strategically” about their job responsibilities and realize that every action they take should in some way help the organization implement its strategy. They ought to ask and to be asked, “How does this contribute to our strategic direction?”

Furthermore, middle managers should be held accountable for their strategic contribution. The strategy ought to be one source of standards against which each middle manager’s performance is measured. A sales manager certainly should be assessed against operational standards in areas such as the amount of revenue generated and the average cost of a sale. However, his or her performance also should be compared to strategic standards. For example, is the pursuit of new business and the percentage of new business consistent with the direction desired by the top team? Are sales activities and results consistent with the emphasis top management wants placed on various products and markets?

To further ensure that middle managers fulfill their strategic responsibilities, they should be rewarded for thinking strategically, even if they need to sacrifice short-term operational results to do so. For example, a key strategic responsibility of a middle manager may be to phase out a product in a particular market, to provide a new customer service, or to invest in training for subordinates so that they acquire skills required by the strategy. Chances are that none of these objectives will be met if the manager is measured solely against quarterly production or revenue numbers.

  • Middle managers are committed to the organization’s strategy. Middle managers probably have not participated in creating the strategy and typically lack a clear understanding of it. Whence the assumption that they support it? Those who see the strategic direction as contradicting their own vision of reality are not likely to be fully committed to the strategy.

Since the active support of middle managers is critical to the effective implementation of the strategy, they need to know not only what the strategy is but also the facts and assumptions upon which it is based. For example, the strategy may assume changes in customer buying patterns, new forms of competition or the absence of government regulation. Sharing the underpinnings and rationale with middle managers—and involving them in planning implementation tactics—helps build commitment.

  • Middle managers are providing top management with timely, high-quality strategic information. They certainly ought to be, but are they? Strategy cannot be formulated or implemented in a vacuum. The top management team needs two types of strategic information. First, it needs information on the status of the implementation. For example, are the various products and markets receiving the appropriate emphasis? Is the pursuit of new business consistent with the strategic direction? Are the necessary human skills being developed? Second, the top team needs to know if the strategic course it charted continues to be the best one for the future. The strategy may be implemented well, but is it “correct” in terms of factors such as market reaction, competitive activity, social and economic trends, and technological advances?

Since middle managers and their staffs are probably closest to information pertaining to both sides of the coin, another of their strategic responsibilities is to gather, analyze and deliver that information to senior management along with their recommendations. The top team can then use the information and recommendations to manage the implementation and, if necessary, make adjustments to the strategy. The dangerous assumption here is that the whole process occurs more or less automatically. It doesn’t.

Figure 1_Strategy and Middle Manager

The Strategic Role

As we consider each of these dangerous assumptions, the strategic responsibilities of middle managers begin to crystallize:

  • To learn about their organization’s strategy by asking the top team for answers to specific questions.
  • To view their jobs strategically, maximizing their contribution to the strategic goals and using the standards suggested by the strategy to guide their performance.
  • To gather information on the implementation of the strategy (how are things progressing?) and on whether the strategy itself is “correct.”
  • To provide feedback in terms of both information and recommendations that enable top management to direct the implementation effort and, if necessary, adjust the strategy.

These roles for middle managers suggest a corresponding set of responsibilities for the top management team:

  • To communicate the strategy (including its rationale) to middle managers.
  • To help middle managers link their unit missions and job responsibilities to the strategy. How? By providing training to educate them about their strategic roles and help build the skills they need to manage strategically; by assessing their performance against strategic as well as operational standards; and by rewarding strategic as well as operational accomplishments.
  • To describe to middle managers the sorts of “strategic information” top management needs to direct and fine-tune the strategy.
  • To use the information and recommendations provided by middle managers to monitor, evaluate and adjust both the implementation effort and the strategy itself.

Strategy cannot drive an organization’s operations if it is a mystical, mountaintop concept known only to the top management team. For the vision to become reality, middle managers must play a critical strategic role. And to play that role effectively, they need training. They need training to help clarify their understanding of the organization’s strategy (a process that often helps top management clarify its own understanding); to help them define their job responsibilities and standards of performance in strategic terms; to learn to manage their daily activities in the context of the strategy; and to gather and provide strategic information and recommendations to top management. An organization’s success in carrying out its strategy depends to a great extent on the degree to which middle managers learn and practice these skills.

Related

Challenging the Incident Management Culture

Creating New Leaders: Moving from Fire-Fighter to Strategic Visionary

Contact Us

For inquiries, details, or a proposal!